Annual General Meeting and Clem Lack Oration Recap

Annual General Meeting and Clem Lack Oration Recap

RHSQ Members and Guests gathered at the Commissariat Store on September 11, 2014 for the Annual General Meeting and Clem Lack Oration.

The AGM saw some changes to the Officer Bearers of the Society. Helen McMonagle stepped down as the President and will now serve as Immediate Past President on the Council. Dean Prangley stepped into the Presidents role, to be supported by Ché Aberdeen as Vice President. The Meeting thanked Helen with acclamation for her tireless dedication to the role over the last two years.

Jean Stewart retired from the Council at the AGM and was thanked with acclamation for over 20 years of dedicated service to the Society, including a term as President from 2004-2007.

It was the pleasure of the AGM, via Helen in her last official duty as President to award Jan Hess a well deserved Macgregor Medal. The Macgregor medal is awarded for conspicuous service, other than of a scholarly nature, to the Society by a member of not less than yen years standing.

Jan recently stepped down from her role as Hon. Exhibitions Curator. For many years Jan has been the driving force behind the fantastic and regularly changing exhibitions at the Commissariat Store Museum. Jan’s work has been seen and appreciated by thousands of visitors to the Museum during her time in the role.

Following the AGM David Gibson OAM engaged the audience with a lively and informative Clem Lack Oration “An Injured Soul – Flinders: The Antipodes and Beyond”. Thanks for engaging us with your presentation, David!

If you couldn’t make it next year we look forward to seeing you at next years AGM and Clem Lack Oration!