Her Excellency the Honourable Dr Jeannette Young AC PSM, Governor of Queensland, opening the Centenary of the Abolition of the Legislative Council Symposium held in the old Queensland Legislative Council Chamber at Parliament House, Brisbane on Saturday 19 March 2022. It was a joint Symposium held by The Royal Historical Society of Queensland and the Parliament House Library.


The Governor of Queensland has been Patron since the foundation of the Society in 1913. The Society has on many occasions welcomed our Patron.

17Her Excellency the Honourable Dr Jeannette Young AC PSM01/11/2021 to current
16His Excellency the Honourable Paul de Jersey AC29/07/2014 to 01/11/2021
15The Honourable Penelope Anne Wensley AC29/07/2008 - 29/07/2014
14The Honourable Dame Quentin Alice Louise Bryce AC CVO29/07/2003 - 29/07/2008
13Major General the Honourable Peter Maurice Arnison AC CVO29/07/1997 - 29/07/2003
12The Honourable Mary Marguerite Leneen Forde AC29/07/1992 - 29/07/1997
11The Honourable Sir Walter Benjamin Campbell AC22/07/1985 - 29/07/1992
10Commodore the Honourable Sir James Maxwell Ramsay KCMG KCVO CBE DSC22/04/1977 - 21/07/1985
9Air Marshall the Honourable Sir Colin Thomas Hannah KCMG KCVO KBE CB21/03/1972 - 20/03/1977
8The Honourable Sir Alan James Mansfield KCMG KCVO21/03/1966 - 21/03/1972
7Colonel the Honourable Sir Henry Abel Smith KCMG KCVO DSO18/03/1958 - 18/03/1966
6Lieutenant-General the Honourable Sir John Dudley Lavarack KCMG KCVO KBE CB DSO01/10/1946 - 04/12/1957
5Colonel the Honourable Sir Leslie Orme Wilson GCMG GCSI GCIE DSO13/06/1932 - 23/04/1946
4Lieutenant-General the Honourable Sir Thomas Herbert John Chapman Goodwin KCB CMG DSO13/06/1927 - 07/04/1932
3The Right Honourable Lieutenant-Colonel Sir Matthew Nathan GCMG03/12/1920 - 17/09/1925
2Major the Honourable Sir Hamilton John Goold-Adams GCMG CB15/03/1915 - 03/02/1920
1The Honourable Sir William MacGregor GCMG CB02/12/1909 - 16/07/1914